Climbing Fear: Longlisted for the Davitt Awards

Sisters in Crime, an Australian-run association for female Australian writers of crime and suspense fiction, have announced the longlist for their annual Davitt Awards – and for the second year in a row, I have a book entered in the longlist.

Last year Dangerous Echoes made it to the list, and this year it’s Climbing Fear’s turn.

You can find the official announcement on their website:

It’s always very exciting to be on a long or shortlist or final of any kind. I do not expect to win as Climbing Fear is up against some fierce competition – some from famed stalwarts of the genre and some new writers. However, I was thrilled to be included in the list for a second year running and even more thrilled when I was mentioned in one of their press releases:

“Sisters in Crime is proud to announce that over 130 books are already in contention – a record. Remarkably, nearly 90 adult novels have been entered, with a noticeable increase in romantic suspense books where she always gets her man. Think Fleur McDonald, Leisl Leighton, Anna Romer, and Kerry McGinnis.”

This is the 20th Davitt Awards. Back in 2001 when it all started, only 7 books competed because as Moraig Kisler (judge wrangler and one of the contest organisers) said:

“Back in 2001, when the Davitts were first presented, only seven books competed (though true crime books were not then included). It was hard for women crime writers to get the time of day with the publishing industry. That’s all changed now and we like to think our awards can take some credit for what is inarguably an explosion of creativity.”

From Sisters in Crime newsletter

I think it’s an amazing accomplishment and I am proud that my little novel is included in a list that celebrates the best in female-written Australian crime and suspense fiction and non-fiction.

Good luck to everyone. And to the judges – happy reading. There certainly is plenty there to make you shiver and smile.

Climbing Fear Blurb

Set against the stirring Victorian Alps, comes a suspenseful novel of recovery and new beginnings from a talented new voice in Australian rural fiction. Perfect for readers of Sarah Barrie and Nora Roberts.

His beloved home is under threat, and with it the beautiful, haunted woman he’s never been able to forget …

X-Treme TV sports star Reid Stratton has everything – until his best friend falls to his death on a climb while shooting their show. In the fierce media fallout, Reid begins to question everything about himself. Crippled by a new fear of climbing, Reid returns to CoalCliff stud, his family’s horse farm, to recover.

Single mother Natalia Robinson is determined to start afresh, away from the shadow of her past. A job at CoalCliff Stud where she lived as a child is the perfect opportunity to live the quiet life she always wanted. But she is unprepared to see Reid, and is even more unprepared for the passion that still burns between them.

But after a series of menacing events threaten the new home she is trying to build, Nat realises that Reid is the only person she can rely on to keep her and her daughter safe. Together, Reid and Nat must face the pasts that haunt them if they are to survive the present and forge a future of hope.

Climbing Fear Buy Links

Print buy links can be found for now at:

Romance.com.au: https://www.romance.com.au/9781867208112/climbing-fear/

Angus & Robertson: https://www.angusrobertson.com.au/books/climbing-fear-leisl-leighton/p/9781867208112

Booktopia: https://bit.ly/2WQ5HnF

Digital:

Apple Books

Amazon Aus

Amazon US

Kobo

Google Play

Leave a Reply